From the Deck of the Rear Commodore Sail

On Saturday night (14th May), the keelboat and dinghy sailors celebrated the end of the 2015/16 Summer Series with their Annual Awards Night. Our much-appreciated team of support volunteers also attended as honoured guests.

The night was very well attended and the MOFSC Galley looked a million dollars, with every table adorned with marine motifs and some of the crusty old sailors even turning up in ties (with suits!).

Our Commodore Leigh Cox opened the evening in praise of the Sailing section and followed with some dry observations regarding the names of some of our racing boats (although I don’t remember ‘Blood Sweat & Beers’ being mentioned at all). Leigh concluded with a challenge that I encourage all of our sailors to take up next season and that is to bring at least one new guest along to a race day, twilight event, etc., – we will certainly find a place for them!

The season’s prizes, including some quite significant trophies, were presented as the evening progressed, interspersed with a most excellent three-course meal and culminating with the awarding of the 2015/16 Club Champions: “Ship of Fools” (Soling), “Scavenger” (Division A) and “Legend” (Division B). The prize for the Most Improved boat in the Division B fleet went to “Corona”, skippered by Tiani Dunn. Congratulations also to Rob and Karen Murray on “Sensacion”, who took out the Cruising Award

My sincere thanks to the MOFSC Staff, including Jade (Water Based Activities) and Tanja (Food & Beverage Manager) for helping make the evening the wonderful experience it was. It was also good to see members of the MOFSC Cruising Fleet supporting the night.

Once again, I commend all of the skippers, crew and volunteers, as well as their families and friends who come along in support, for their important contributions into ensuring the enjoyment and success of the 2015/16 Summer Series and I hope to see you all out there again next season!

P.S. Sailing events will continue to be held over winter (weather permitting) so keep an eye on Breakwater or contact Jade to be placed on our sailing events mailing list.

2015/2016 Season Results

Award Fleet 1st 2nd 3rd
Short Course Series Soling Ship of Fools (14) Anything Goes (15) Grumpier Old Men (18)
Division A Scavenger (9) Gumboot (16) Nyari (18)
Division B Clearwater (10) Legend (22) Aquilla IV (23)
Handicap Start Series Soling Not enough races to constitute a series
Division A Triffic (4) Nyari (6) Scavenger (8)
Division B Legend (7)
Ocean Consistency Series Soling Knotted (6) Ship of Fools (9) Grumpier Old Men (9)
Division A Scavenger (5) Triffic (8) Nyari (11)
Division B Andrea (7) Legend (11) Corona (11)
Season Consistency Soling Ship of Fools (29) Grumpier Old Men (40) Anything Goes (56)
Division A Scavenger (37) Triffic (41) Nyari (51)
Division B Legend (78) Baruna (87) Aquilla IV (89)
Club Champion Soling Ship of Fools (5) Grumpier Old Men (9) Blood Sweat & Beers (14)
Division A Scavenger
Division B Legend